Rishil Mehta, senior, Senator Herb Kohl (retired), Emily Dethloff, science instructor, and Michael Fesenmaier, principal.

The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship Program has announced recipients of the 2014 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students and teachers. New Berlin Eisenhower student Rishil Mehta was awarded an Excellence Scholarship in the amount of $1,000. In addition, Emily Dethloff, Eisenhower science teacher, was selected a Fellowship recipient and will receive a $1,000 award.

Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and have a high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond. Rishil is among 22 Excellence Scholarship recipients this year from the southeastern Wisconsin region (CESA 1).

Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom. Each Fellow’s school will also receive a $1,000 grant.

Excellence Scholarship and Fellowship recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), and regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA).

Awards will be presented personally by Senator Herb Kohl (Retired) at a local recognition luncheon honoring the recipients held at Brown Deer High School on March 30, 2014.  For additional information:  www.kohleducation.org.


Eisenhower Middle / High School