

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NEW BERLIN, Wis., December 21, 2010

New Berlin Teacher Named as Finalist for Presidential Science Teaching Award

Three Wisconsin educators have been named finalists for 2010 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, a national recognition program for elementary and secondary mathematics and science educators.

Wisconsin's 2010 mathematics finalists are Patricia Agee-Aguayo, who teaches first grade at Danz Elementary School in the Green Bay Area School District; and Jeannie Coppernoll of Richland Center, who teaches first grade at Riverdale Elementary School in the Riverdale School District in Muscoda.

John Hushek of Hales Corners, a teacher at Orchard Lane Elementary School in New Berlin, is Wisconsin's science finalist. He was nominated for the award as a sixth-grade teacher at the Indian Community School in Franklin. Following nomination for the award, each completed application materials. At the state level, applications are evaluated using the five Dimensions of Outstanding Teaching:

- mastery of content knowledge appropriate for the grade level taught;
- use of instructional methods and strategies that are appropriate for the students in the classroom and that support student learning;
- effective use of assessment strategies to evaluate, monitor, and improve student learning;
- reflective practice and life-long learning to improve teaching and student learning; and
- leadership in education outside the classroom.

"Clearly educators who are finalists for the Presidential Teaching Awards program have made a commitment to excellence in their teaching careers," said State Superintendent Tony Evers. "I congratulate these individuals on advancing to the next level of competition and commend them for their devotion to educating our children."

Applications for the three finalists will be forwarded to the national level for judging by a committee organized by the National Science Foundation. The panel may select one teacher of mathematics and one of science to receive Presidential Awards from each state and four U.S. jurisdictions. In addition to recognition and professional development events in Washington, D.C., winners receive \$10,000 and a citation signed by the president.

###